Earning my Grammar Police Badge


I admire her for taking the time to hone her skills!

Isn't It Sweet

While I rarely post personal stories, I wanted to share one of my recent accomplishments, of which I’m particularly proud.

In early-2013, I accepted a promotion at work and was made responsible for all written communications materials for external audiences developed by my team of five. While I consider myself a pretty decent writer and editor, I had a mini panic attack immediately after accepting the role.

So I quickly went in search of a program to hone my editing skills, and after doing some extensive online research, I found a well-reviewed and highly rated copyediting certificate program through the University of California San Diego Extension. The program consisted of four online courses that could be completed in approximately one year.

proofreading_symbols

I began the program in May 2013, and within a few weeks realized I was in over my head– the program is geared toward active copyeditors who are looking to get certified…

View original post 191 more words

Your feedback:

